What are the SDGs ? (Sustainable Development Goals)

September 2022
7 min read

The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development was adopted by the 193 UN member states in 2015.  

They cover all sustainable development issues, with the objective of eradicating poverty and inequality by ensuring its ecological transition and solidarity by 2030.

The SDGs distinguish 17 sustainable development goals with 169 targets. These goals address climate, water and biodiversity issues, as well as gender equality, poverty, education, health, economic prosperity and peace.

The 2030 calendar defines the interdependencies between the different themes and calls for a commitment from all institutional and civil society actors: companies, administrations, associations or individuals!

Organizations are encouraged to implement all 17 goals, or at least the ones that are most relevant according to their business.  

The sustainability goals aim to address three priority issues:

- "Ensure a realistic state of play, then implement a rigorous monitoring of progress and identify areas for improvement.

- To create a dynamic of appropriation of the objectives of sustainable development by the territories, the civil society, the private sector and the citizens.

- Foster a context of cooperation: disseminate good practices and build a framework for cooperation between actors to carry out joint actions."

In Europe, Eurostat, the European statistics agency, has listed 100 indicators to assess the progress made by the European Union and its Member States in achieving the targets and SDGs.

In France, the SDGs are embodied in a roadmap. This roadmap aims to confirm France's ambition in this area while ensuring consistency and synergy in the implementation of the 2030 Agenda and the Paris Agreement.

October 2022
6 min read